So, for Christmas my hubby bought me a waffle maker and this morning I broke it out, whipped up a quick and easy vegan waffle batter and got to cooking!  It has been probably 5 years since I attempted to cook waffles…the last time I did it was a HUGE disaster!  My batter was all wrong and the George Forman Waffle/Griddle I had was not working in my favor.  😦  Huge flop…I thought I’d never make waffles again!  I even gave my George Forman away because I was so annoyed with the process and outcome. 

Skip forward to this morning…a little aprehensive…but excited about my new toy, I pulled out a few ingredients after looking at about 30 different waffle recipes online.  Nothing jumped out at me, but I discovered you needed a few key ingredients.  So, with those in mind I went into the kitchen and came up with this:

Citrus Vegan Belgium Waffles

  • 1 c. Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 c. Pamala’s Gluten Free Baking Flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • Pinch Sea Salt
  • 2 Tbs. Sucanant
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Bean Paste
  • 2 c. Almond Milk, unsweetened
  • 3 Tbs. Earth Balance, melted
  • 2 Tbs. Chia Seed in 3 Tbs. Water (soak ~5 min)
  • Zest from 1 Clementine

In large bowl, combine flours, baking powder and salt.  Mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine sucanant, Earth Balance, zest, vanilla bean paste, and almond milk.  Whisk until incorporated.  Add Chia Egg and whisk.  Pour wet ingredients into flour mixture and mix with a large spoon until lumps are gone. 

Pour ~ 3/4 c. batter on HOT waffle maker (I sprayed mine with oil before cooking to ensure it would come out of the pan easily) and cook for ~4 minutes. 

Makes 4, 6-7″ waffles.

Serve with a variety of toppings:  Maple syrup, homemade jams, nut butters, powdered sugar, and earth balance!  SOOOOO freaking good!  Nice and fluffy on the inside, and crisp on the outside.  If you like a crisper waffle, just cook a little longer. 

I had mine with homemade peach butter and cashew butter thinned with almond milk….this really hit the spot.  Not too sweet, filling, and super tasty!

Thanks for the inspiration babe!

Hope you all have a great New Years!

R-

