So, a while back I applied to be part of the Iron Foodie sponsored by Marx Food and Foodie Blog Roll…and I sadly wasn’t chosen to compete.  HOWEVER, I received an email from Justin Marx asking if I’d like to try a few samples and participate in a sort of “runner’s up” challenge.  I quickly responded and about a week ago I received (free of charge) several samples from Marx Foods and I have created this yummy scone recipe using two of those ingredients!

I was a little apprehensive to use lavender in a recipe because I’ve seen and heard that too much lavender in a recipe will ruin your food and taste soapy.  YUCK!  I did LOTS of research on line regarding lavender, flavors that pair well, how to prepare, and popular recipes.  I wanted to push myself to try something new and experiment – even if that lead me to failure.  I threw around LOTS of ideas, both savory and sweet, and finally decided to try my hand at scones (something I’ve never baked, but enjoy eating). 

Blackberry Lavender Scones

  • 1 c. Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 c. White Spelt Flour
  • 1/3 c. White Sugar (although, these would be FAB if you replaced the white sugar with honey)
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1.5 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
  • 1/4 tsp. Ground Lavender Buds
  • 3/4 c. Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 pt. Blackberries
  • 1/2 c. Lavender Tea (soak 2.5 tsp. in 1 c. hot water for ~10 minutes)
  • 1/2 c. Powder Sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • Honey Granuals

1. Boil water, steep 2.5 tsp Lavender buds for ~10 minutes (the water should turn a dirty, purplish color and should have a mild lavender taste when sipped).  Once tea is ready, toss 1 pt. coarsely chopped blackberries into 1/2 of the tea and allow to soak while prepping the rest of the ingredients.

2.  Mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and lavender in large bowl.

3. Whisk together white sugar, yogurt, and egg. 

4.  Add the berries that have soaked in the lavender tea (make sure they were able to soak for ~10 minutes) to the sugar mixture.  Reserve the liquid for the frosting.

5.  Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and incorporate with your hands.  This will be sticky, but it mixes best with your fingers. 

6.  Fill mini scone pan 3/4 full (or you can pat this into a circle 1/2-3/4″ thick on a floured surface, cut into 8 pieces), sprinkle with honey granuals, place into preheated oven (400*) for ~15 minutes.

7. When scones are done, place on a cooling rack to cook and then prep your ingredients for the frosting. 

8. Mix powdered sugar, vanilla, and ~4 tsp. blackberry/lavender tea reserved.  If your frosting is too thick, add a little more tea (1/2 tsp at a time) until the right consistency is achieved.

8.  Drizzle frosting over top of the scones, sprinkle with honey granules, and ENJOY!

MMMM…these are pretty good.  My nephew ate two of them!  But be warned, they are not overly sweet and have a very distinct flavor.  My mom tried them and said they are one of those foods that taste better and better with each bite.  They are different, healthy (only 104 cals a piece if you make the minis – 14 scones), and crumbly! 

Thanks Marx Food for the opportunity to try out these new ingredients and for pushing me to try new things!

R-

