A few weeks back I received an email from Foodbuzz Tastemakers stating that they needed people to review Wendy’s French Fries.  I have NEVER been a fan of Wendy’s French Fries and thought that if they had changed things what better way to give them a try then for free!!!   Wendy’s sent me two $7 gift cards (gratis!) so that I could try their fries, post a review, and allow my readers a chance to try them as well (via giveaway).

Before I give my review, I want to state that I fully understand that eating  french fries are not a means to a healthy heart or small waistline, but sometimes a girl just needs some fries!  I am guilty (I confess…and although I’m not proud, I have vowed to stay honest on this blog) of eating out WAY too much while thinking as I eat my fast food, “You know you shouldn’t eat this!”  So why accept to do a review for Wendy’s?  Well, I did a little research and found that Wendy’s (although far from perfect) is trying to provide its customers with quality ingredients and is committed to humane treatment of animals.  They have LOTS of stipulations they place on their suppliers.  While I don’t feel they are as strict as they could be, they are placing more demands than any other fast food chain (with the exception of Chipotle) that I am aware of. 

On to the Review:

So, yesterday night my hubby and I visited Wendy’s.  My husband ordered a burger and fries, I ordered a salad…and of course FRIES (the whole reason I was there to begin with). 

Old Wendy’s Fries

Source

On The Old Fries – I have had Wendy’s fries several times…and was never impressed, I would choose McDonald’s or Burger King fries over Wendy’s ANY day.  The fries were LIMP, too SALTY, and really tasted only of OIL and SALT.  YUCK.  Good thing Wendy’s has other options for a side dish.

New Wendy’s Fries

Click for Source

On The New FriesSo. Much. Better.  I almost at the WHOLE box of fries (this never happens, hubby usually finishes them for me when I’ve eaten about 1/2 of them)!  My fries were fresh, hot, and crispy.  I saw them take the fries from the fryer as I was ordering.  So how did they taste?  Pretty good…they were crispy on the outside, and perfectly soft on the inside.  I love fries that are crunchy…a limp, soggy french fry isn’t worth the calories.  These fries had the perfect amount of crunch and  just the right amount of sea salt.  I didn’t even need ketchup!  The fries were good…and I’d definitely eat them again (in moderation that is, these puppies are FAT-TEN-ING).  BUT no fast food fry can replace homemade french fries!

Rating – 3/5 Stars

Do you want to try them for yourself?  Post a comment before midnight on December 9th.  One winner will be chosen at random on December 10th and will receive a $7.00 Gift Card to Wendy’s.  That’s it!

Thanks Foodbuzz Tastemakers and Wendy’s for this opportunity!

R-

