First, I have to apologize for not posting this prior to Thanksgiving but I had some issues with uploading pictures and internet connectivity…then with Thanksgiving, prepping  food, and getting the post for 24×24 ready I just haven’t had time.  SORRY for the delay.  Luckily, these recipes are equally delicious for a Christmas Dinner.

Fresh Cranberry Salad

This recipe (or a variation of it) came from a dear friend’s father.  Every year during college I spent Thanksgiving at my friend Sarah’s house and her dad would make this salad for us.  I remember one year he forgot to wash the orange and “zested” the label into the salad…I am the lucky one to have received the “extra” ingredient!  It was a running joke from that day on.  Sadly, her father passed away the year after we graduated.  Each year I make this salad I think of him.  🙂

  • 2 Bags Fresh Cranberries, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 Orange, zest and juice
  • 2/3 c. chopped pecans
  • Sugar to taste (I use ~1/4 cup)

1. Chop your cranberries and pecans, pour into a large bowl.

2.  Zest one orange and add it to the cranberries.

3.  Squeeze the juice of one orange into a separate bowl, remove any seeds that fell into the juice, and then pour juice into cranberry mixture.

4. Mix all ingredients, add sugar.  Let stand 10 minutes, taste.  If it’s too tart for your liking, add a little more sugar.

ENJOY!  This salad is great as is…but it also tastes AMAZING on top of baby greens with a little feta!

Fast + Fresh = DELISH

Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Praline Pecans

For The Mash

  • 4 c. Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 c. Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 c. Sugar
  • 4 Eggs

For the Pecan Praline

  • 1 1/2 c. Chopped Pecans
  • 1/2 c. Earth Balance
  • 1/4 c. Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 c. Flour

Boil your sweet potatoes, mash and add eggs, cream and sugar.  Place mashed sweet taters into a 9×9 baking dish.

Prepare your praline by heating butter in a sauce pan.  Add sugar and flour once melted.  Once this mixture is mixed, add pecans and cook on med-low heat until a caramel-like consistency is achieved.  Pour this mixture on top of the mashed sweet potatoes and pop in the oven for 30 minutes at 350*

These potatoes are by no stretch of the imagination healthy!  They are however, FABulous and really a little goes a long way.  I’m not sure where my mom originally came across this recipe…but it has been changed a little from its original version (I think there used to be OVER one cup of sugar in the mix).  I think next time I make these I’m gonna try coconut milk instead of heavy cream and try chia gel in place of the eggs.   I will keep you posted…but they probably won’t make an appearance until Christmas!

Happy Saturday!

R-

