It has been a few days since my last post…and since I made this delicious treat (wish I had more) that was inspired by Angela over at Oh She Glows.  This was so yummy…equally delicious hot or cold!

Perfect Pear Oat Bars

To find the recipe that inspired this go here.

For the Oat Base –

  • 1.5 cups Oats
  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Chia Egg (1 Tbs Chia soaked in 3-4 Tbs. Water for 5 minutes)
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance (I didn’t melt mine…would have made for easier mixing…melt it!)
  • 1/4 cup Maple Syrup
  • 2 Tbs. Almond Milk (I used Silk…the BEST almond milk I have tried)

For Pear Mixture –

  • 3 Pears, chopped into small bites size pieces
  • 1 Tbs. Coconut Butter (Artisana makes a killer Coconut Butter)
  • 1 Tbs. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • A little water (the pears didn’t break down like berries do…and I didn’t need to add chia since the coconut butter helped thicken up the juices and water).

Prep your oat base…pull aside at least 1/2 cup for topping (I reserved about 1/3 of the recipe…I LOVE crumbly toppings).  Press your dough into the pan (if you use parchment paper clean up is a breeze).  Cook down your pears, add coconut butter when they are almost ready (fruit needs to break down a bit and soften)…add water as needed to keep things moist and to ensure it doesn’t burn.  Add spices.  Dump your pear mixture onto the oat base.  Crumble the remainder of the oat base on top of the pears, sprinkle with seasame seeds.  Bake at 350* for ~30 minutes.  Pull from oven and allow to cool before slicing and serving. 

Mmm, Mmmm Good!  Next time I make this I think I will cook the oat base for 10 minutes or so before adding the fruit mixture to give it a little crisp factor.  Also, a home-made caramel sauce would take this to a whole new level.  Oh, I can taste it now!!!!

I promised a giveaway that was to be posted this week…I’m sorry, I have to postpone the details until Monday…but keep your eyes open!

R-

