OMG!  One of my favorite shows is Iron Chef…I’m amazed at all the fabulous creations the chefs make on that show with so little time and without knowing what the secret ingredient will be!  It takes creativity, knowledge, speed, organization…and above all COURAGE to go head to head with some of the most amazing chefs in the biz.  When I saw that Foodie Blogroll and Marx Foods was hosting a chance to participate in a Foodie Iron Chef I had to apply!

Wanna pick me????

Q and A:

1. Why do you want to compete in this challenge?  Iron Chef is the ultimate in challenges for those with an interest in good food.  Creativity, taste, and composition are key components in making a stunning meal with often interesting ingredients.  To be given the opportunity to compete with my peers in creating a stunning and interesting meal with surprise ingredients would be an experience of a lifetime and a challenge that would push me to a higher level in regards to experimentation with foods.  I’ve always been a “dump until it tastes good” type of cook and have come out with dozens of delicious meals (often un-reproducable because I can’t remember what I put into them) and many flops!  This challenge can push my “dumping” skills and encourage me to be even more adventurous in the kitchen.  Sometimes a little push allows for greatness!

2.  Limitations of time/space notwithstanding, whose kitchen would you like to spend the day in & why? Julia Child, Thomas Keller, Ferran Adria, James Beard, Marie-Antoine Careme, or The Swedish Chef?  immediately I thought of Rick Bayless…he is A-MA-ZING!  He has such an amazing way with creating traditional Mexican cuisine (one of my favorite FOOD GROUPS).  He has won lots of awards and has opened Frontera Grill and the more “ritzy” Topolobamp in Chicago; both of which received rave reviews from groups  like Gourmet, Food & Wine, and Bon Appétit .  He seems like a genuine individual with a LOVE for the food he creates…and I’d love to learn to make a killer Mole!

(Source)

3. What morsel are you most likely to swipe from family & friends’ plates when they aren’t looking?  Oh, this is a tough question!  I’m a sucker for the simple things in life.  I can never say no to warm chips and fresh, spicy salsa.  If I was at Frontera Grill I’d probably snag a few chips of my neighbors table as well!

(Source)

4. Sum your childhood up in one meal. Spaghetti and Meatballs with Hot Garlic Bread – Traditional, Chaotic, Fun, Dressed Up Easily, and  Made with Love.

(Source)

5. The one mainstream food you can’t stand?  Ugh, the smell, look, texture, and taste of hot dogs gross me out!

So…keep your fingers crossed that they pick me…I LOVE a good challenge.

R-

