Several weeks ago I saw a chili recipe on (never home)maker’s blog…and I knew I had to give it a try.  Like many people in the blogging worlds I am a HUGE fan of the big orange squash and am willing to try just about ANY recipe with pumpkin. 

So, the day before Halloween my family (my side as well as Joe’s) got together to carve pumpkins. 

Perfect day for chili making.  You can find Ashley and Stephen’s recipe here but I made a few changes based on what I had on hand.

My take on Pumpkin Chili

Serves 8-10 hungry people!

  • 2 cans Pumpkin
  • 2 cans White Navy Beans
  • 1 can Black Beans
  • 1 can Kidney Beans
  • 1 bag Frozen Corn
  • 2 cans (28 oz) Crushed Fire  Roasted Tomatoes
  • 2 cans (14 oz) Veggie Broth
  • 1 large Onion, diced
  • 3 large Carrots, diced
  • 1 large Red Bell Pepper, diced
  • 2 Tbs. EVOO
  • 5 cloves Garlic, pushed through garlic press
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbs Hungarian Paprika
  • 1.5 Tbs. Chili Powder

Heat oil in pan.  Cook onions, carrots, bell pepper, and garlic in pan until tender.  Add the remainder of ingredients into a LARGE crock pot, turn on high and cook for 3-4 hours. 

Our Topping Bar Included:

  • Chopped Avocado
  • Cubed Smoked Chedder
  • Diced Red Onion
  • Cooked and Crumbled Italian Sausage
  • Gluten Free Corn Bread Crumbles

Verdict – HUGE success.  Lots of compliments and only one bowl left for lunch!  I will be putting this in my regular winter meal rotation…so comforting!  And when I told people there was pumpkin in the chili they were floored!

Go out and make this chili NOW…I’m sure you could throw everything in the crock pot first thing in the morning, set it on low, and have a hearty, healthy, DELISH meal ready when you walk in the door.

We also had this deliciousness inspired by Angela at Oh She Glows:

(more on this tasty bit later this week)

Cheers!

R-

