I love the “Clean Food” cookbook my mom and dad gave me for my b-day…and have made several delicious bites inspired by the recipes found on the pages.  And I love the fact that everybody I know can eat what I’ve cooked when I use one of Terry’s recipes.  I was EXCITED to see a recipe for butternut squash soup…and it sounded delicious…simple…and I had EVERY ingredient on hand: Butternut squash, apples, onion, oil, nutmeg, veggie stock, and coconut milk.

Just look at these:

With ingredients like these this soup was destined for greatness.  I followed the directions to a T – except for the simple fact that it took WAY longer than 20 minutes to soften up that butternut!  I had to leave mid cooking to go see an allergists (no fun…and now I’m on Zertec and Flonase everyday for the rest of my life, JOY) and left my mom to finish the soup. 

When I got back to my mom’s house I asked how the soup was…her response was simple, “I must not be a butternut squash soup person.”  Hmmm…what does that mean?  I took my goods home (the soup was prepped for my lunches this week) and thought nothing of it.  Tuesday afternoon I sit down with my soup, SUPER excited to sip this creamy deliciousness and found myself DUMPING half my soup down the drain. 😦

So disappointed…I was so sure this was going to be “THE SOUP” I love butternut and have had some DELISH soups at restaurants but I have never found a recipe (or canned butternut soup) that I like.  HELP!  If you have any suggestions please send them my way.

With that I think it is time for….

SUCCESS!

Ginger Bread Spiced Almond Butter (a la Ashley)

Ashley calls this “Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter” but it reminds me more of gingerbread cookies than pumpkin pie…so I changed the name.  I only made a few changes to her recipe…I LOVE cloves and HAD to include that in the mix…here are my measurements –

  1. 4 C. Raw Almonds
  2. 2 Tbs. + 3 tsp. Maple Syrup
  3. 2 Tbs. Molasses
  4. 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  5. 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  6. 1/2 tsp. Ginger
  7. 1/4 tsp. Cloves
  8. Safflower Oil as needed (added in 1/2 – 1 tsp at a time)

I roasted ~20 minutes.  Stirred the almonds once.  Cooled and then blended in 3 batches!  SO FREAKING GOOD!!!!

Okay, I have to get going…my family is getting together in an hour to carve pumpkins and I have to get laundry done (geez…seems like that is all I do!).

R-

Edited to Add – I just wanted to say that these almonds are DELISH right out of the pan too!  You might try giving these as a gift or setting them out for snacks at your next get together with friends. 

AND…be on the look out for a GIVEAWAY later this week!

