Voting over at Foodbuzz has started!  To help out a newbie blogger, click here and vote!

Now on to the yummy stuff…Agave Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting inspired by “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World“.  I must say, these cupcakes are so freaking good!  Just the right amount of sweet and super moist.  I had to adjust the recipe a bit.  It may have been my stove, the moisture, or the fact I’m at high altitude.  I’ve found that each recipe I’ve tried from this book need a little tweeking…but I’ll report back after a new stove is purchased…it may just be a “heat” thing. 

Enough rambling….

Agave Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

  • 2/3 c. Vanilla Oat Milk with 1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 c. Light Agave Syrup
  • 1/3 c. Coconut Oil, melted but not hot to touch (no lumps or there will be problems)
  • 1.5 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. Almond Extract
  • 1 2/3 c. All-Purpose Flour (unbleached)
  • 3/4 + 1/8 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 + pinch Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt

Directions –

  1. Place vinegar in milk, whisk and set aside for at least 10 minutes.  The longer you wait, the more buttermilk-like this will become.  If you’re not vegan or not staying away from dairy feel free to sub these 2 ingredients with buttermilk.
  2. Pre-heat oven to 325* and line your muffin tins.  This makes ~30 mini cupcakes or 12 cupcakes.
  3. Warm coconut oil, stir out any lumps.
  4. In medium sized bowl, beat agave, coconut oil, vanilla, and almond extract. 
  5. Sift in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  6. Mix until smooth.
  7. Fill cupcake tins with batter about 2/3 full.
  8. Bake for 20-22 minutes (it took the entire time for the minis, but since my stove is WHACK, maybe check yours after 12-15 mintues…toothpick should come out clean)
  9. IMPORTANT!!!  Cool for at least 1 hour before decorating so that texture and flavors develop properly.

Same cupcake recipe for both these cupcakes!

Chocolate Frosting

  • 1/4 c. Earth Balance, softened to room temperature (make sure it’s at room temp to help keep ingredients from separating, this happens if fats are too cold or too hot)
  • 1/4 c. Spectrum Shortening
  • 1/2 c. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (sifted)
  • 2.5 c. Powdered Sugar (sifted)
  • ~3 Tbs. Vanilla Oat Milk
  • 1.5 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Directions –

  1. In a medium bowl, cream Earth Balance and shortening until well combined.
  2. Add the cocoa powder, mix well.
  3. Add powdered sugar in 1/2 c. intervals, mix, add milk in 1 tsp. intervals when necessary.
  4. When all ingredients are well mixed, add vanilla and beat with hand mixer for about 3 minutes (7 if you are doing it by hand)

Place in piping bag, decorate away!  I topped my cupcakes with a little coconut…PERFECTION!

And in other news…

ARTISANA REVIEW – Cashini Butter

LOVED IT!!!!  On the package it says, “Peanut Butter Replacement” and I can HONESTLY say it could very well be!  I at this deliciousness with a rather GIANT Honeycrisp apple for breakfast.  So filling and I was satisfied until lunch.  The Cashini is the newest member of the Artisana Family and is a blend of sesame seeds, cashews, and sea salt (which I think made this butter what it is).

First Bite – “I’m not sure I like this, I think I taste “tahini.  Bummer, I am not a fan, its okay in things, but I would NEVER spread it on some toast and be happy.  URG, another disappointment.  Oh well, may as well finish it.  Nothing else for breakfast as I grabbed this and ran out the door.”

Second Bite –  “The texture is great, kinda like peanut butter…hmmm.  I don’t really taste the tahini, maybe it was all in my head?”

Last Bite – “Bummer, I still have 1/3 apple and NO MORE cashini.  😦  I wish I had more.”

So, in sum…GO GET SOME!

Have a great night!!!!

R-

 

