I was so impressed with the Dairy/Soy Free Ricotta from Yum Universe that I thought I would try to use it in another pasta dish.  It really does make things soooo creamy.  I don’t think it actually tastes like ricotta, but it does a great job of imparting a LOT of flavor and gives the creamy texture I miss from dairy. 

I’ve had some Spaghetti Squash sitting on my counter for well over a week and I just haven’t been motivated to cook it up.  But for some reason it was calling my name!  I cut the squash in half, length wise, scooped out the seeds and strings, and placed it flesh down in a baking dish with about an inch of water and slid 2 cloves crushed garlic under each half.  Into the oven at 350* for ~45 minutes.  When I pulled it out of the oven I was happy I spent the 5 minutes to prep this…it smelled great!  Fork the flesh and “noodles” will separate.

Baked Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash, baked and shredded
  • 1, 15 oz can Tomato Sauce (season this to your liking with oregano, garlic powder, s & p, etc.)
  • 2 cups Spinach
  • 1 Onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 Anaheim Pepper, diced
  • 1.5 Tbs EVOO
  • 2/3 bag Frozen Veggies (I used WF Asparagus Stir Fry mixture)
  • 2 cloves Garlic, fine minced
  • 1 tsp. Cumin
  • 1 Tomato, diced and reserved

Dice onion and peppers, saute in oil with garlic until onions are translucent. Add cumin, salt and pepper.  Add spinach, wilt, and remove from heat.  In baking dish place a little tomato sauce then 1/2 squash…

1/2 ricotta…

veggies (all but a few for the top), then 1/3 sauce.  Repeat. Sprinkle fresh tomato on top of the mixture. 

Place in the oven at 350* for ~45 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to cool for 20 minutes or so.  Makes 6 large portions.  This turned out really good.  My peppers were not spicy enough so next time I might add a little cayenne pepper and/or hot sauce to my tomato sauce to get a little kick. 

This turned out great…but I did make a BIG oops when making it.  I forgot the Tahini in my Ricotta!!!!!!  I could tell a difference in the final product…a little less earthy I think…but despite my oops it still tasted great and I will make this again.  For added texture I think I’m gonna top this with sunflower seeds at lunch tomorrow…maybe a bread crumb crust/topping would be good as well.

Okay, I’m rambling now.  Sorry 🙂  I’m off to watch the VMAs

Have a great night!

R-

