I teach preschoolers and encourage parents to send in healthy snacks with their children…and often I see Fruit Roll-Ups (click link for a little shock…these things always surprise me, USE YOUR OWN JUDGEMENT PEOPLE) come out at snack time.  Fruit Roll-Ups are loaded with “sugar” and other ingredients.  They are obviously not a replacement for fruit, rather candy.  But, kids LOVE their Fruit Roll-Ups, and I did as a kid too!  So, now that I’m grown I make my own…using 100% whole fruit and a touch of honey.  Simple, Easy, DELICIOUS!  And kid approved.  My nephew loves them 🙂

Fresh Fruit Leather

  • 8 oz fresh fruit
  • 1-3 tsp honey

Blend your fresh, cleaned fruit in a mixer/blender.  Sweeten with honey.  Place the blended fruit on a fruit leather sheet (you can place on parchment paper but the fruit leather will wrinkle and stick a bit)

Place in your dehydrator for 6-8 hours on 95-100*  When done, peel your fruit leather from the sheet, cut into strips, roll them up, and store in an air tight container for up to 4 weeks.  Makes 1.5 – 2 sheets (10×10, about 1/8 inch thick).

This was Strawberry Peach – YUMMY!

R-

