September is Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month and the FAB people over at Foodbuzz are doing September’s 24×24 in partnership with The Ovarian Cancer Research Fund.  I would NEVER have thought to apply to participate in 24×24 so early on in my blogging career, but when I saw that Foodbuzz was donating $250 per participant to OCRF and wanted to bring about awareness of ovarian cancer I knew I had to at least try.  A dear friend of mine battled ovarian cancer and BEAT IT!  You will be hearing more about her story a little later.  Anyway, I guess they liked my hook because I GET TO PARTICIPATE this month!!!!!  I AM SUPER EXCITED!!!!  So next Saturday, September 4, I will be having a little get together with some family and friends in the name of Ovarian Cancer Research!  Please check back on September 8th for my write-up.

And in the spirit getting creative in the kitchen, I took KELSEY’S BALLS base recipe and made these…..

Super Quick + Super Easy + Real Foods = UnFREAKing Believable!

Chocolate Dream Protein Balls

  • 3/4 c. Peanuts (I used organic, roasted/salted)
  • 1/2 c. Chopped Dates
  • 2 Tbs. Fine Coconut Flakes
  • 1/2 c. Dried Cranberries, coarsely chopped
  • 3 Tbs Mini Vegan/Dairy Free Chocolate Chips
  • 1.5 Tbs. Sweetener (honey, agave, brown rice syrup)
  • 1 Tbs. Coconut Butter, softened

Pulse your peanuts and dates in a food processor or magic bullet until its crumbly but sticks together.  Place in a large bowl and measure in the remaining ingredients.  Now its time to get your hands dirty!  Incorporate the ingredients with your hands.  These puppies need a lot of pressure to hold their shape.  I kinda had to “press” them into a ball shape.  My mixture made 16 balls.   One or two make a perfect snack!  Store in the fridge. 

Thanks for the inspiration Kelsey (you should check out her blog…pretty cool).

Gonna leave you with a little love from my nephew…he had LOTS of fun helping me in the kitchen today 🙂

Just an FYI...he's not angry, that's a "Meow"

R-

