In the AWESOME cookbook “Clean Food” there is a recipe for homemade pickles. I was excited to see that the recipe was written for the “One Batch At A Time” and “No Need To Seal” methods.  WooHoo!  I can now use some of my MANY cukes that came out of my garden before they go bad.

Here is my take on the recipe:

Fridge Pickles

  • 4 cucumbers, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup brown rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sucanant
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Slice your cukes and throw them in a large bowl, set aside.  Heat the brown rice vinegar, sucanant, and salt in a small sauce pain until it begins to boil.  Make sure the sugars disolve.  Pour the liquids over the cucumbers.  Allow the cucumbers to sit at room temp for ~6 hours (you may need to stir the cukes every few hours if the liquid does not cover them all in the beginning).  After 6 hours, transfer to a pint jar. 

 I originally tried to stuff them into a pint jar…hahaha!  That wasn’t happening, so I threw it in a larger jar I salvaged from some applesauce…they fit, but it made the stirring of the cukes VERY difficult.  Please leave them in a bowl…you’ll thank yourself later 🙂

I did a lot of looking online regarding the shelf-life of fridge pickles and discovered that your pickles should last 2 months if stored in the fridge in a closed jar.  These are sweet, sort of like bread and butter pickles.  Pretty good…and actually better as time has passed.  I will be making these again.  Took very little effort and time.  They are delicious on Vegan Sloppy Joes.

R-

