When I was growing up Mom would slice up dozens of zucchini each summer, dip them in a tasty batter, and fry them up.   It is one food memory that sticks with me year after year, and even though I am grown and have my own home, I have never tried to replicate this family memory on my own.  Well, yesterday I decided to try my hand at making this tasty dish…and I must say, the zukes turned out GREAT!

Mom’s Fried Zucchini

  • 1 Medium Zucchini, sliced ~1/3 inch thick
  • 8 Tbs. Multigrain Pancake Mix (I used one that had whole wheat, corn meal, and oat flour)
  • ~ 1/3 c. Almond Milk
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Salt
  • Tabasco Sauce, to taste
  • ~ 1 c. Coconut Oil

Directions

  • Slice zucchini
  • Combine flour, milk, pepper, and tabasco sauce.  Mix well.
  • Heat small frying pan to medium heat, add coconut oil and melt.
  • Dip zucchini in batter and carefully place 4-5 zucchini in the frying pan once it is hot.
  • Fry ~1 minute on each side (it will have a nice golden brown color and be nice and crisp).
  • Pick up zucchini and let oil drain.
  • Place fried zukes on a plate lined with paper towel so that any excess oil is drained and absorbed.
  • Sprinkle with a pinch of oil while fried zukes are still hot.
  • Enjoy!

Accompany With –

  • Tabasco
  • Ketchup
  • Plain yogurt

I hope you can enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

R-

