I am currently in the process of remodeling our 2nd bathroom…leaving my hubby and I with one bathroom to share!  We are doing the remodel ourselves (well, to be honest, my dad is doing the remodeling…we are “assisting”).  We’ve gutted the bathroom and purchased all the supplies we think we’ll need…its already cost about $600 more than I anticipated.  Our home was made in the 50’s and this bathroom is in the basement.  For those of you who have never remodeled an older home, there are some things you should know:

Bathroom Basement + Weird Measurements = $$$$$

Nothing we purchased for the  shower could be purchased from stock items (with the exception of tile and plumbing).  Everything had to be special ordered…and that doubles or triples your costs.  Something I didn’t realize before moving into this adventure.  Additionally, we have to replace most of our plumbing because it’s galvanized…YUCK. 

Here is the before photos (well, after “gutting”)…

There was some mold…all that board and parts of the wall have to be removed and replaced.  That’s what you get with an old basement bathroom I guess.

Well, I’m off to get a special blade to cut through concret…wish us luck!

R-

