There are few things in life I love more than curry.  The heat, complex flavors, and ability to “blend” with a wide variety of foods never cease to amaze me.  However, finding a good quality, fresh curry can be difficult and when I came across a Arvinda’s spices on Oh She Glows I had to order.  The spices are authentic, have a bit of a kick, and are better than any curry I have EVER tried.  They will do orders to the US, just email them your desire to buy their culinary delights.  So worth the time it takes to ship from Canada!  A few weeks past OSG posted that she made lentils with this curry…I don’t remember her recipe exactly, but it did inspire this meal.  Love me some lentils and it’s been too long since I’ve had them.

Curried Lentils a la Yoke

1 c. French Green Lentils (or any lentil you like)

1 Tbs. EVOO

Water

1 Tbs. Arvinda’s Curry Masala

1/2 tsp. Arvinda’s Garam Masala

1.5 large carrots, diced

1/2 large onion, diced

1 c. diced fire roasted tomatoes

1 Tbs. Earth Balance

3 Cloves Garlic, pushed through garlic press

Eggs

Directions – Pick through lentils and rinse.  In a hot frying pan add oil,garlic,  carrots, and onions.  Saute until tender.  Add lentils and cover lentils with water.  I added enough water to cover lentils plus about 1 knuckle above the lentils. Bring lentils to a boil and then reduce heat to medium-low.  Cooking time will depend on your lentil, anywhere from 20-50 minutes…if they are older and dryer it will take longer.  Check your lentils, when they are soft but still firm, add the canned tomatoes, curry, and garam masala (if you still have a lot of liquid in your pan, remove most of that liquid with a spoon or cup).  Simmer 5 minutes.  Add Earth Balance, stir through.

Cook your egg to your liking.

Serve and ENJOY!  Soooo yummy…even my picky meat-eater said I could make this again!

Gonna miss my eggs starting Aug. 1st

And before this yummy meal I turned these monsters from my garden

into these beauties…

Thanks to The Edible Perspective….with a few modifications: 2 Tbs Chia in place of flax and water, 1/3 cup each of maple syrup and brown rice syrup, pecans for walnuts, and used Maple Clove Almond Butter. 

My nephew had a BLAST adding every last topping to each and every muffin.  Toppings included fresh blueberries, banana, coconut flakes, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, rolled oats, vegan chocolate chip minis, and pecans.  Who says a 2-year-old can’t cook?  He was so excited to eat his “uffin” that he didn’t take his nap.  Cried for his muffin for over an hour before we caved and let him go without his nap.  Cooking is just too much fun!

R-

