I’ve been dying to make my own granola for the past few weeks…think it will be a good addition to my oats in the morning.  I do miss the crunch other breakfasts provide.  So, I did a little browsing and came across LOADS of variations for homemade granola.  Lots of them had at least 1/4 c. oil in addition to the fat from the nuts…YIKES!  In all my research I discovered that you do need a few things to make a good bowl of granola: OATS (or other whole grain flake…like rye or barley), SEEDS, NUTS, SPICES, and some sort of BINDER (oil, nut butter, applesauce, etc.), and a SWEETNER (honey, rice syrup, sugar, maple syrup, etc.).  DRIED FRUIT is optional and should be added AFTER cooking.  The amounts are subjective and, honestly, personal. 

Here is my take on granola…It turned out pretty awesome and my hubby even made his way upstairs asking if I was making some sort of sweet bread.  Score!

Coconut Spice Oatmeal

1 cup Rolled Oats

3 Tbs. Sunflower seeds

3 Tbs. Pepitas

1 Tbs. Chia

1 Tbs. Flax, coarsely ground

4 Tbs. Walnuts, chopped

2 Tbs. Coconut flakes

2 Tbs. Coconut Butter, melted

1 Tbs. Honey

3 Tbs. Unsweetened Applesauce

Spices to taste, I didn’t measure these: Cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves.

Directions – Mix all ingredients in a bowl and stir until well combined.  Spread on a parchment covered baking sheet.  Cook at 315* for ~30 minutes.  Check every 8 minutes or so and stir.  Granola will be a nice golden brown color and have a little crisp.  Careful not to burn.  Granola will continue to become crunchy as it cools.

Store in an air tight container and ENJOY!

After Baking…Crunchy, sweet, deliciousness!

 MMMM….so good.  Experiment with granola today…I don’t know if you can go wrong! 

R-

