Today has been a productive day…despite the sweltering heat.  Did I mention that I don’t like HOT weather? 

It’s been a challenge trying to get out of bed early.  Every morning I continue to hit the snooze until Joe is out the door and then I’m kicking myself because I am rushed and not making any progress towards my morning workout plan!  Despite my inability to get up early I have been making an effort to prep my Scottish Oats each morning.  Today’s bowl was especially yummy!

Raspberries, cocoa nibs, homemade almond butter, and cinnamon….SOOO Good!

 

Nice and creamy!

This oatmeal held me over until about 11:30, but I couldn’t eat until about 12:30 cause lunch was home and I was just leaving work and needed to stop off at the store for some roasted, unsalted sunflower seeds.  Needless to say I was HUNGRY when I walked through the door and quickly ran out to the garden to pick some fresh lettuce and found all my plants were wilted in the heat.  They looked miserable so I feed them some water and ran inside to feed myself.  To hungry to cut all my veggies for a salad I threw home-grown lettuce and zucchini in a brown rice tortilla along with hummus, guacamole, and tomato.  Carrots and Snap Peas on the side…it was SOOO GOOD and so filling I couldn’t eat my bowl of soup!

 

Now that my body has been fed I can focus on my friend’s simple, homemade birthday gift.  I have been making nut butters this summer and really enjoying all the different things you can do to make them come alive.  My girlfriend’s son is allergic to peanuts and she doesn’t allow any other type of nut in the house but does allow seeds.  This is where my trip to the store to purchase sunflower seeds comes in…I decided to make her my Rachel Original “Hint of Vanilla Sunflower Butter” for her birthday.  It turned out perfect and I hope she enjoys it!

Hint of Vanilla Sunflower Butter

2 c. roasted, unsalted sunflower seeds

1.5 tsp. vanilla

1-2 tsp. cinnamon

Sunflower Oil

First thing you want to do is  pick through the seeds and throw out any seed that looks bad…one bad seed can make an entire batch of butter go VERY wrong.  Place the seeds in a food processor and process on high until it starts to become creamy.  For me this took about 5 minutes.  Add a little oil(a 1/2 tsp at a time)  if the butter is too thick.  Once you have the right consistency add in your vanilla and cinnamon…it should look something like this:

Mix until well blended.  Taste.  If you need more vanilla or cinnamon nows the time to add it. 

Keep in mind that sunflower butter will have a greyish hue.  Adding the vanilla and cinnamon help brown it up.  Also, you want the butter to be nice and creamy, it will thicken in the fridge.  Keep this and all nut butters in the fridge so that they don’t go rancid.

I’m off to the store to get canning lids…made this nut butter and have no lids!  UGG

R-

