It’s been a few days since my last post…and I’ve been in the kitchen cooking baking up a storm!  I decided to try out all these fabulous looking VEGAN treats posted on Angela and Ashley’s blogs.  The following photos (keep in mind I am a digital point and shooter) are my interpretation of their original recipes.

Round 1Cherry Banana Coconut Butter Bread

This bread is to DIE for!  I can’t believe how moist and sweet this turned out.  I did make a few changes to the original recipe: Used Whole Wheat Flour, 1/4 c Maple Syrup,  1/3 c. coconut milk, baked for 45 minutes then left in oven (turned off) for an additional 10…the rest is exactly as Angela wrote it (click link above). 

The Goods

Oh, and I used coconut flakes instead of shredded flakes

SOOOOOOO Good…Seriously, you need to try this bread!

Yes, I ate that entire hunk of deliciousness!  And for breakfast this morning I crumbled up 1/2 a piece over plain greek yogurt and a drizzle of raw honey…HEAVEN

Thanks Angela…I will be making this bread often!  I think next time I will stir some cherries into the batter, maybe add some nuts for a nice crunch. 

Round 2 – Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes (Modified from Chocolate Avocado Cake)

These cupcakes mean business!  They are KILLER.  I decided I would make these for my Mom’s birthday since 1/2 my sibs are vegan.  I wasn’t sure about using avocado in baked goods but it really WORKS!  I made a few modifications to Ashley’s recipe (please click link for recipe)…I used coconut milk instead of almond milk and placed peanut butter in the cupcakes before baking.

Lookie Here

After baking

This was batch #1 and I thought the peanut butter made the cupcakes sink a little in the middle.  So, for the next batch +2 (made 26 cupcakes) I placed batter, peanut butter,then batter and happily the cupcakes did not sink in the middle.  WooHoo! 

 On to frosting.  Since I made these into Peanut Butter Cupcakes what better frosting then Peanut Butter?  I used Ashley’s quick Peanut Butter Ganache Recipe…quick, easy and delicious (it is pretty sweet, so a little goes a long way)…and a few sprinkles of Vegan Chocolate Chip Minis (so cute).

Ta-Da!

And as I consumed this chocolate dream…

MMM…gooey

Messy, peanut buttery goodness…I better take this last bit in one BIG bite!

Well…there you have it!  Thanks Ashley for your inspiration!

Here’s to trying new things

R-

