Looks as though this blog will remain anonymous for a while longer…but that’s okay.  My main purpose for this blog is to keep me accountable! 

I have decided on creating my own workout schedule based on my own personal knowledge (I used to work out before my thyroid went bad, so I do know a few things) and a little help from Jillian Michael’s and New Rules of Lifting for Women.  The plan is to start out slow so that I don’t burn out the first week.  I plan on following Jillian’s Sedentary to 5K plan starting this week and then adding in weights next week while following New Rules of Lifting for Women weight lifting plan.  New Rules focuses on working out ALL large muscle groups 3x a week.  The theory is that in order to use large muscles you MUST use your smaller muscles and isolating those smaller muscles isn’t necessary in order to see results, increase strength, and build muscles.  The theory seems logical…we shall see as I put theory into practice next week.

My plan this week:

M – Run/Walk Intervals: 5 min warm-up, 20 minutes alternate 1 min run with 1 min walks, 3 min cool-down.

T – Steady State: Elliptical Machine, 30-45 min

W – Run/Walk Intervals: 5 min warm-up, 20 minutes alternate 1 min run with 1 min walks, 3 min cool-down.

Th – Off

F – Run/Walk Intervals:  5 min warm-up, 20 minutes alternate 1 min run with 1 min walks, 3 min cool-down.

S – Steady State:  Elliptical, 30 – 45 min.

S – Off

How’s that for a first week plan?

So how did I do?  When I started my first minute I felt like I could have run longer but was afraid to change the program…and I’m glad I did because as time went on it became more difficult to run those single minutes.  My minute runs were at a 4.8-5.0 speed, not to shabby for somebody who hasn’t run in nearly 6 years!  After finishing my last run I knew the 1 minute cool down would not be enough and ended up doing 3…my heart and body were happy with that.  I felt like I have accomplished something impossible! In order to share my excitement I took a pic on my phone to sent it  to my hubby.  He said I looked sweaty and cute…and liked that I was still smiling. 

(This pic has been edited…the coloring was WAY off in the original so I just took out the color!)

Congratulations on taking the first hurdle head on.

R-

