This summer has pulled the carpet from beneath my feet and my blog has suffered!  I had good intentions and planned on trying lots of new dishes and reporting back to you all…but my good intentions were not enough.  Please accept my apologies.

Today I would like to share with you some YUMMY cashew cream that I made for a family get together.  It is delicious on fresh berries and would probably be good added to a smoothie in the morning.  This recipe is adapted from a Whole Foods recipe.

Cashew Cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw, unsalted cashews, soaked in filtered water for at least 4 hours
  • 1 tsp. vanilla paste (I use this…it is AWESOME)
  • 1/2 c. + 1-2 Tbs. warm water
  • 1-2 tsp. powdered sugar

Directions -

Drain water from soaked cashews.  Place in a food processor.  Add vanilla paste.  Blend until cashews smooth out (there will be some texture to this, especially if you don’t have a high-end food processor).  Add in 1/2 c. warm water.  Add 1-2 Tbs. warm water to achieve desired consistency.  I like this a little thinner.  Stir in 1-2 tsp. powdered sugar.

Serve on top of mixed berries, garnish with mint, and ENJOY!  Light and refreshing…and a GREAT way to replace whip cream for those who are dairy free!

The original recipe calls for 2 dates processed with the cashews, I thought I had them at home when I went to make this recipe…I obviously didn’t.  I thought the small amount of powdered sugar sweetened this up nicely but if you have dates at home I’m sure they would taste equally delicious!

-R

 

